Customer Reviews

Based on 8 reviews
75%
(6)
13%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
13%
(1)
E
Erin Wallace (Philadelphia, US)
Tacky never fully hardened

The resin was very tacky and never fully hardened. The customer service was very very helpful but it doesn't change the resin.

Hi Erin, I'm sorry to hear our advice so far hasn't helped with your resin curing problems. Sticky resin is just awful and I regret that we haven't gotten a solution for you yet. I'll be sending you an email privately so that we can help you with this. Thanks for letting us know.

R
Rachel Barger
Lingering odor, slow curing

Never getting this doming resin again. My pieces still stink two weeks later, and the surface is still slightly tacky. The smell is intolerable for pieces I had planned to sell and so is the sticking. What a waste of time, money, and resin art.

Hi Rachel, I'm sorry to read that your experience with the crystal doming resin wasn't worthy of 5 stars. We understand that people are sensitive to different odors and are sorry to hear the smells of this resin were bothersome to you. We always recommend good ventilation when using any of our resins and that may help you as well with using the crystal doming resin. I have a video on our youtube channel that shows how I make sure to have enough room ventilation when I'm working with resin. You can watch it here: https://youtu.be/DGID4-gTy-o As for sticky resin, that's an easier fix. The great majority of the time it comes either from inaccurate measuring or incomplete mixing. This article explains how it happens and what you can do to fix it: https://www.resinobsession.com/resin-frequently-asked-questions/why-is-my-resin-sticky/ I'm going to reach out to you personally to make sure you have these resources and offer additional help to get you to resin pro status!

S
Suz (Midland, US)
I've been looking for "doming resin"

and I finally found it! Can't wait to try it!

V
Vicki Newby (Fort Worth, US)
Here's a picture of my project

I don't know if my picture came through earlier, but this is a recent project I've been working on with the doming resin.

S
Shannon Brill (Chardon, US)
Crystal Clear...but still getting used to

I have worked with ice resin (also a doming resin) for a few years. I stopped buying it because after a reliable supplier went out of business, it became very difficult to get a batch that had not started to yellow. Since I sell my jewelry, I am very particular about what I use. After hours of research which included comparing resins by an independent lab, I decided to try Resin Obsession's doming resin. It came nearly colorless, what you should expect and the shipping was quick. However, I was surprised by how much they charged to ship. Again, I've been buying resin for years, and never have I paid these high shipping fees. I have worked with the resin twice now. It is a little thicker than Ice Resin and therefore bubbles don't want to pop as readily. All of my pieces have turned out bubble free, BUT I definitely need to fuss with it longer and therefore I probably will waste more resin as this cuts into my working time after I mix a batch. My second experience using it was better than my first. So I am hopeful that I will like this resin more once I get used to it. It does create crystal clear and eventually bubble free pieces that should wear nicely with time due to the UV stabilizer in Resin Obsession's resin. Lastly, the smell is just awful. It smells like Ice Resin, but even stronger. So...yes, I'll be working in my art studio with the windows open and the heater cranked in the middle of winter.

Hi Shannon, thanks so much for taking the time to share your insight. I can tell you put a lot of time into your review to help other resin creators. That means a lot to us! I wanted to address a few of the comments in your review to help you with using the resin in the future: 1. We can't disagree with you on shipping costs. Because the resin is considered hazardous for shipping we cannot ship it through the postal service which is less expensive than UPS. We do offer free shipping on orders of $75 or more going to U.S. addresses to help save you on delivery charges. 2. As you found out, the resin mixes thick, which makes it more likely to hold onto bubbles. Warming the resin kit in a hot water bath five minutes before using, plus applying the resin in layers no more than 1/8 inch thick will make it easier for bubbles to release. 3. I'm sorry to read the smell bothers you. It is rather strange how some people are bothered by it while some customers don't notice it at all. You're definitely taking the right approach though by having fresh air circulate in the room. It's something we recommend when working with any resin, whether you notice an odor or not. Thanks again Shannon for sharing your helpful comments. It's customers like you that help us get better!

>

Resin Obsession Crystal Doming Resin 8 oz - Jewelry Resin Kit

$29.95

Product will be back in stock soon. Expected In Stock Date: --
Notify me when In Stock


Add to Wishlist

Free shipping
in the US with purchase of $75+

  • Details
  • How to Use
  • Shipping & Returns

Getting a beautiful domed finish on your jewelry and tumblers means using the epoxy resin kit formulated for those projects.  The Resin Obsession crystal doming resin kit gives a gorgeous evenly rounded coating without pulls, voids or fish eyes.

How does this epoxy resin kit do that?

  • Self-leveling formula.  No worries about getting an even, glossy finish.  This formula does it for you!
  • Get professional artist results whether you keep it clear or add resin colors.  
  • Contains UV additives to guard against yellowing.  It's our best UV protection available
  • Meets the highest level of safety standards. This formula has been reviewed by a board-certified toxicologist. Conforms to ASTM D-4236. Free of harmful VOCs.
  • Made in the USA.

This epoxy jewelry resin kit comes as 4 ounces Part A resin plus 4 ounces Part B hardener.  It contains enough resin to fill approximately one hundred, 1-inch bezels of a 2 to 3 mm depth or coat fifteen average-sized tumblers.

How do you use this epoxy resin kit?

Step 1:  Mix one part A to one part B by volume. 

Step 2:  Stir for two to three minutes until streaks are gone and the mix is clear.  

Step 3:  Pour in your bezel, coat your tumbler or apply to other flat surfaces.

*For best results, mix at least 1 ounce to ensure full curing.  Use the resin mix within 30 to 50 minutes.

Get more detailed instructions on how to use this epoxy resin kit.

Whether you are a resin beginner or a seasoned professional, get perfect results, and have people amazed with your resin projects. Like giving a glossy coating to these paper earrings.

Don't forget to get your resin mixing cups and stir sticks to make sure you mix your resin thoroughly and measure your resin accurately.

What else can you use this epoxy resin kit to make besides jewelry?

  • Finishing artwork
  • Glazing tiles
  • Giving a glossy shine to mixed media projects

What shouldn't you use this resin for?

We want to make sure you're getting the right epoxy resin for what you're making, even if it's not jewelry.

*Pouring into molds where you only need 3 ounces of resin or less.  The Resin Obsession super clear resin is formulated for mold projects like this to get you crystal-clear, bubble-free results.

*Deep pour projects such as orgones and river tables where you need to pour more than 3 ounces of resin.  The Resin Obsession deep pour epoxy resin is the perfect choice for these projects and you can pour it up to two inches thick!

 

 CautionNote:  This epoxy jewelry resin kit can only ship to our friends in the U.S. and Canada through UPS.  We share more details about why, including the taxes and fees imposed upon Canadian customers, in our shipping policy. 

We want you to be thrilled with your purchase, but in case you're not, we cheerfully accept returns or exchanges of unopened items within 30 days of receipt.  Please contact us for instructions on how to return this epoxy resin.


Customer Reviews

Based on 8 reviews
75%
(6)
13%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
13%
(1)
E
Erin Wallace (Philadelphia, US)
Tacky never fully hardened

The resin was very tacky and never fully hardened. The customer service was very very helpful but it doesn't change the resin.

Hi Erin, I'm sorry to hear our advice so far hasn't helped with your resin curing problems. Sticky resin is just awful and I regret that we haven't gotten a solution for you yet. I'll be sending you an email privately so that we can help you with this. Thanks for letting us know.

R
Rachel Barger
Lingering odor, slow curing

Never getting this doming resin again. My pieces still stink two weeks later, and the surface is still slightly tacky. The smell is intolerable for pieces I had planned to sell and so is the sticking. What a waste of time, money, and resin art.

Hi Rachel, I'm sorry to read that your experience with the crystal doming resin wasn't worthy of 5 stars. We understand that people are sensitive to different odors and are sorry to hear the smells of this resin were bothersome to you. We always recommend good ventilation when using any of our resins and that may help you as well with using the crystal doming resin. I have a video on our youtube channel that shows how I make sure to have enough room ventilation when I'm working with resin. You can watch it here: https://youtu.be/DGID4-gTy-o As for sticky resin, that's an easier fix. The great majority of the time it comes either from inaccurate measuring or incomplete mixing. This article explains how it happens and what you can do to fix it: https://www.resinobsession.com/resin-frequently-asked-questions/why-is-my-resin-sticky/ I'm going to reach out to you personally to make sure you have these resources and offer additional help to get you to resin pro status!

S
Suz (Midland, US)
I've been looking for "doming resin"

and I finally found it! Can't wait to try it!

V
Vicki Newby (Fort Worth, US)
Here's a picture of my project

I don't know if my picture came through earlier, but this is a recent project I've been working on with the doming resin.

S
Shannon Brill (Chardon, US)
Crystal Clear...but still getting used to

I have worked with ice resin (also a doming resin) for a few years. I stopped buying it because after a reliable supplier went out of business, it became very difficult to get a batch that had not started to yellow. Since I sell my jewelry, I am very particular about what I use. After hours of research which included comparing resins by an independent lab, I decided to try Resin Obsession's doming resin. It came nearly colorless, what you should expect and the shipping was quick. However, I was surprised by how much they charged to ship. Again, I've been buying resin for years, and never have I paid these high shipping fees. I have worked with the resin twice now. It is a little thicker than Ice Resin and therefore bubbles don't want to pop as readily. All of my pieces have turned out bubble free, BUT I definitely need to fuss with it longer and therefore I probably will waste more resin as this cuts into my working time after I mix a batch. My second experience using it was better than my first. So I am hopeful that I will like this resin more once I get used to it. It does create crystal clear and eventually bubble free pieces that should wear nicely with time due to the UV stabilizer in Resin Obsession's resin. Lastly, the smell is just awful. It smells like Ice Resin, but even stronger. So...yes, I'll be working in my art studio with the windows open and the heater cranked in the middle of winter.

Hi Shannon, thanks so much for taking the time to share your insight. I can tell you put a lot of time into your review to help other resin creators. That means a lot to us! I wanted to address a few of the comments in your review to help you with using the resin in the future: 1. We can't disagree with you on shipping costs. Because the resin is considered hazardous for shipping we cannot ship it through the postal service which is less expensive than UPS. We do offer free shipping on orders of $75 or more going to U.S. addresses to help save you on delivery charges. 2. As you found out, the resin mixes thick, which makes it more likely to hold onto bubbles. Warming the resin kit in a hot water bath five minutes before using, plus applying the resin in layers no more than 1/8 inch thick will make it easier for bubbles to release. 3. I'm sorry to read the smell bothers you. It is rather strange how some people are bothered by it while some customers don't notice it at all. You're definitely taking the right approach though by having fresh air circulate in the room. It's something we recommend when working with any resin, whether you notice an odor or not. Thanks again Shannon for sharing your helpful comments. It's customers like you that help us get better!